Structure of the National Audit Office

Maris Vaino | 12/4/2019 | 2:04 PM

Text size: [-A] [+A]

Language: EST | RUS | ENG


The National Audit Office is managed by the Auditor General, who is appointed for a term of five years by the Riigikogu on the proposal made by the President.

The National Audit Office divides into three structural units: the Audit Department that carries out financial, compliance and performance audits; the Analysis Department whose main outputs are reviews and special works; and the Development and Administrative Service, which supports the departments of principal activities as well as the Auditor General in the performance of their functions.

The Audit Department is managed by a Director of Audit, who coordinates the work of sectoral audit groups. There are six audit groups that focus on sectors such as the education, work, social protection and health; sustainable development, infrastructure, energy and environment; internal and external securty, information technology; local governments and accounting, reporting and financial management. The audit groups are managed by audit managers.

The Analysis Department monitors and analyses the sector of public finance and administration and other issues of significant economic impact proceeding from the guidelines of the Auditor General. The Analysis Department is managed by a Director of Audit.

The Development and Administrative Service is managed by a Director, who guarantees the functioning of the work of the National Audit Office and the Auditor General in areas such as HR management; external communication;  accounting; methodology, planning and analysis; building management, and records management.

  • Posted: 12/4/2019 2:04 PM
  • Last Update: 6/13/2023 11:38 AM
  • Last Review: 6/13/2023 11:38 AM